Day 2: Dinnertime, and the Vegan is Easy

Day 2 of the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart: Almost out of fruit, wanting some Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas, and a mad craving for chocolate–time to shop. First stop, Kroger. Managed to pick up some cheap organic/gluten-free cereal for the kiddos, some wasabi powder, a couple loaves of Ezekiel 4:9 bread (on sale, plus coupons!), and some vegan soups (on sale, too, of course). I had planned on picking up some veggie burgers, but a quick glance at the ingredients (MSG!) changed my mind pretty quickly. I’ll make my own. This decision led me to my friendly neighborhood health food store.

There, I grabbed some TVP (texturized vegetable protein) for my veg burgers, some nutritional yeast, and the bargain of the day–Ezekiel 4:9 tortillas ($3 less than at Kroger!). That store has so many goodies, I could stay there all day. Alas, one more stop.

Meijer! This is where I stocked up on everything else for the week. Tons of fruits/veggies, some quinoa hiding way on the back of the shelf, navy beans, pinto beans, refried beans (vegetarian), black-eyed peas, garbanzo beans (that’s a lot of beans!), plus a few other necessities.

Three stores, one shopping cart, and two baskets later I was finally ready to go home. I hadn’t even had lunch yet (thanks, in part, to my filling breakfast of leftover oatmeal. It was 3:30–might as well make an early dinner. Grocery shopping night is always taco night in our house. They’re fast and easy, and most importantly delicious. The husband and kids had grass-fed beef tacos. I, being the good 21-Day vegan that I am, had portobello soft tacos w/ all the fixin’s.

Oh, avocado, how I love thee. ❤

I suppose I’ll let you in on a little secret. I’m not a fan of MSG, and you shouldn’t be, either. Those little taco seasoning packets at the store are LOADED with it! After many failed attempts at making my own seasoning that actually tasted yummy, I finally found one. Trust me, this is the last taco seasoning recipe you’ll ever need. You’re welcome, in advance.

Nacho Mama’s Taco Seasoning
1 Tbsp chili powder (I use Hot Mexican-Style Chili Powder)
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp paprika
1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp sea salt
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp cornstarch or flour (to thicken and keep from clumping)
Adjust the red pepper flakes to your heat preference. Add 2-3 Tbsp of seasoning per lb of meat. To make it thick and saucy, after seasoning has been added to meat, stir in 1/3 cup water.

There you have it! Also, for all you cheese lovers (myself included!), I added a few slices of avocado to my tacos tonight and never even missed the cheese. Their creamy texture makes for an excellent mayonnaise substitute as well.

Green Goodness

Final thoughts for the day?

  1. Read your labels. MSG is hiding everywhere–be sure to know its aliases, too!
  2. Eat beans and oatmeal (not together, ew)–cheap and filling.
  3. Avocados are your friend.

Eat on, foodies.

5 Responses to “Day 2: Dinnertime, and the Vegan is Easy”

  1. You really should try out for the next Food Network star!

  2. I LOVE the Ezekiel whole grain tortilla and bread lines! Flourless and filling. They have kept me sane during my 3 month sugarless, flourless diet experiment.

    • They are all very tasty–the bread is SOO good toasted. How is the diet going? Have you noticed any difference in the way you’re feeling?

      • I feel like I have stronger will power, but health-wise, it’s probably not a good time to ask me because I’ve been adjusting to new everything for the past month and am just now emerging from my constant exhaustedness. I haven’t noticeably dropped weight, either. I’m sure staring a new diet within the start of a new job, city, move, apartment, surroundings, friends, co-workers, work-out routine (or lack thereof), etc., added to the challenge and stress of it, but it’s made it all the more rewarding. I never thought I could make it a week, let alone an entire month now, avoiding added sugar and flours. I needed to get them out of my system to reorient my body to less processed junk food and to prove to myself that it’s not a necessary part of my diet. We’ll see how it goes the rest of the 2 months I have left.

Leave a Reply

